2018 Sub-3. No rules. Run. (Read 792 times)

Reeves no Im happy your calf is good. Im new to calf injury so dont know how far to push it. Its past been able to run on it through discomfort now as it gets worse.

Jmac I guess hills utilise different muscle groups and actually give flat running muscles a little relief.

Concrete/asphalt ah the old forum debate is one softer than the other 

Personally give me asphalt anyday.

55+ PBs 5k 18:36 June 3rd TT

" If you don't use it you lose it,  but if you use it, it wears out.

Somewhere in between is about right "      

JMac11

RIP Milkman

Training question I hadn't fully considered before:

How does sleep impact our training when doing doubles? Take these two scenarios. One of them would be considered a double, scenario A, yet the other wouldn't, Scenario B. However, Scenario B has a much shorter turnaround time.

A) 10 miles at 5 AM, 10 miles at 9 PM

B) 10 miles at 9 PM, 10 miles at 5 AM the following day

Does sleep have that much of an impact on us that A is much more difficult than B, even though you are completing B with 8 hours less in between runs? The reason I'm asking this question is I find myself often doing something like B, but I can't imagine scheduling something like A into my calendar. Is this an issue, i.e. is it turning my easy runs into something more than easy?

It's pretty easy to say yes sleep has that much of an impact, but wondering if anyone has more info on this.

5K: 16:37 (11/20)  |  10K: 34:49 (10/19)  |  HM: 1:14:57 (5/22)  |  FM: 2:36:31 (12/19) 

I go to bed at 9pm so cant help sorry 

55+ PBs 5k 18:36 June 3rd TT

" If you don't use it you lose it,  but if you use it, it wears out.

Somewhere in between is about right "      

CalBears