Here we go again: marathons and extreme endurance events are BAD for you (Read 1010 times)

xor

On the 2nd page of the paper, it read dramatically different from the news headline.

Which is to be expected.  ET! PA!  LMNOP!

Prince of Fatness

Even though I consider this a comet topic the timing comes at an interesting time for me.   A couple months ago I scaled way back on my running and am still trying to decide what I want to do with it.  I had been fighting injury problems for a couple of years, had another setback, and decided that it was enough.  It was as much mental as it was physical, I think.  I just lost the urge to keep fighting and pushing this thing.  I think that I held on as long as I did was because I enjoy racing.  A lot.

Anyhow it doesn't take long to get fat and out of shape, so I need to do something.  So now I am trying to get into the habit of running every day again.  My body doesn't seem to want to allow me to train to race but it seems to be OK with going out and running around 5 to 7 hours a week, so I'll shoot for that.  I am not aiming for anything specific I am just going to run regularly and see where I get with that.  Goals / missed targets have led to frustration with me.  So consider me one of the "hour a day just because it keeps me fit" people.

And yeah marathons.  Never again.  Even when I was training for them running wasn't as much fun for me.  I could never envision racing more than one every two years.  I'm not knocking people who run lots of them but it just ain't my thing.  I seem to be in the minority there.

Not at it at all. 

L Train

This makes me sad. 

BeeRunB

Right now, running marathons is The Big Thing.

And it is The American Way to find stuff with which to cut down the current Big Thing.