2021 Sub 3:00 Marathon Thread (Read 453 times)

JMac11

RIP Milkman

I think it was you who said that you feel invincible when training is going great, but then wonder if you’ll ever get back on track when injured and I totally relate to that.

Yep, that was me, good memory. I'm trying to avoid the second part and saying "CIM is done!" Going back in my logs and seeing 3-5 days off for most injuries is giving me some comfort.

RP - that LRC spreadsheet is absolute gold. I've been using it for 5 years at this point. You definitely are not pushing too hard if you're using the LT in that spreadsheet off a recent 10K time.

Here's the thing with MP for me at least: it's incredibly hard early in a cycle and gets easier as time goes on, even if I'm a) increasing the distance I run it at and b) the time I run it at. Put another way, that first 8 @ MP feels almost like a race, but 14 @ MP feels like I could do another mile or two at that pace. You've gotten such a late start to this training cycle, you may be in that early pain phase.

I am a little concerned though you just bailed on that first run: no MP workout should go from being able to complete the pace to just bailing: it's usually a 10-15 second dropoff that tells you that you are not hitting that pace going forward. I am never hitting MP well and then say "this is it, I gotta shut it down." But maybe that was smart what you did on the first workout. The second workout is good.

I'd be a little more worried if you were running 6:55-7:00 and feeling gassed. Are you definitely in the same shape as 2019? No. The question only you can answer is whether you'd rather go for a safe 3:05 and enjoy the race, or push for 2:59 with a possibility you blow up for a very difficult finish.

5K: 16:37 (11/20)  |  10K: 34:49 (10/19)  |  HM: 1:14:57 (5/22)  |  FM: 2:36:31 (12/19) 

JMac11

RIP Milkman