1000Km-621 mile club

2011 Goals (Read 373 times)

Running safely

What are everyone's goals for running this year? Obviously it is to at least run 1000 Km. Beyond that, what are your running plans?

I plan to run at least 2 half marathons. They may not be official events, but I will mark out the distance and give it a good effort on a cool Saturday morning. Being that I am a pastor, I have trouble getting Sunday mornings off to run a race. In the US I found it pretty easy to find Saturday races, but as I am currently in Argentina, I have not found but a couple of Saturday races. They are never anything big. All the big events (half and full marathons) are on Sundays.

I would also like to run a marathon in the Fall. I will be back in the US by then. I have not given much thought as to where. I might consider the Indianapolis marathon, which is where I ran my first one in 2008. Since then I have struggled with little injuries that have kept me from the longer distance races. I was training for another marathon in 2009 and got injured. Stress fracture in my foot.

Beyond that, I just want to run consistently. If I do train for a marathon, then I will probably run way more than 1000 Km for the year. But since I had such a horrible year in 2010, I wanted to set myself a realistic, but challenging, goal for 2011 that I should be able to accomplish even if I have to crawl across the 1000 Km mark by the end of the year. In 2008 I was going for 1000 Miles when I got injured. I ended the year with 883 miles. So close to my goal, but I could not keep up the mileage by the end of the year.

That's my plans. Yours?

Maggie & Molly

This is what I posted in my other group:  Some of this is not running but it is all connected for me!