10K Training Group, 8K's are welcome too

back to back hard days (Read 298 times)

I was looking at eispickel's log and saw you did tempo runs two days in a row. This got me to thinking about my plan for my 10k training. I do my LR's on Sunday. My plan was to ease into speedwork by doing Friday tempos for a few weeks before adding intervals on Tuesdays. I always do a medium/LR on wednesdays at an easy pace. I have agreed to do these with a friend at another location. It is a hilly course. While I don't plan on doing these runs fast, should I consider the hills a hard workout? I take off Saturdays unless I race, then I take Friday off.

crb81 2008 goals sub-20 5k, sub-43 10k, 1:35 half, 3:20 marathon

I am no expert, Clay, but if you run the hills hard I wouldcall it a hard workout, if you keep your heartrate in the moderate zone then not. Just an opinion, Simon.

PBs since age 60:  5k- 24:36, 10k - 47:17. Half Marathon- 1:42:41.

10 miles (unofficial) 1:16:44.

Marquess of Utopia

Yeah I don't like running tempos two days in a row. Running a tempo yesterday was dumb, but testosterone and peer pressure got in the way of common sense. (It's a long story) Running hills at an easy pace should not be considered a hard workout; but I would listen to your body especially if you're not accustomed to running on hills.