10K Training Group, 8K's are welcome too

Race Preparation (Read 515 times)

Eustace Tierney

YoYo

My target race was June 21st but have decided to run a race in 2 weeks time. Any thoughts on training between now and then. My target tme for june was sub 40. should I try now for this. Its a fairly flat course.

"The will to win means nothing without the will to prepare." Goals: Keep on running!

RunAsics

The Limping Jogger

I'm no expert but here are my thoughts: In general, should stick to your training plan but shift the hard workout to earlier in the week of the race - well that's what I do, i.e. front load the race week and run easy the days before. Then, race by how you feel as your A-race is over a month away. If you're "feeling it" and go sub 40 great, if not, you just put in a one hell of a tempo run and have a fitness baseline for the final stages of your training. I raced a sub 40 10k on April 19th. My plan was to go out in a 6:20, i.e. not blast the 1st mile, and take it from there. I didn't have a great day (legs a bit tight) but still pulled down a 39:11. You can check my log for the workouts leading up to that. Note that I'd run a strong 8k 3 weeks before as part of the 10k plan. I entered the 10k plan off a HM plan so had a good base.

"Only a few more laps to go and then the action will begin, unless this is the action, which it is."

Eustace Tierney

YoYo

Cheers for your thoughts. My legs a bit knackered at moment. 11 miles on sunday and 7.7 yesterday. I dont feel fresh any more always, running tired.. Perhaps I need to reduce the miles. will take a couple of days off.

"The will to win means nothing without the will to prepare." Goals: Keep on running!