1500 Miles So Go Run

Marathon and 1500 mile club (Read 463 times)

Beware, batbear...

I'm wondering how many of you guys have done a marathon?  My guess is a bunch. 

I did about 1100 miles last year and I don't think there was any point at which I was ready to do a marathon on that mileage.  I mean, I think I could have ran/walked 26.2  miles if I had to, but I wouldn't have been able to run a marathon.  I did a half-marathon in September.  A hill-riddled bitch that I did in 1:55 last year and am hoping to get down to 1:45 this year.  That is my main goal race.

The issue for me is time.  I don't consistently have the time to spend more than 45-55 minutes on running a day and when I get busy (I'm a theatre artist - actor, director, designer, technician) I have barely 20 - 30 minutes a day, 3 or 4 days out of the week.  Of course, that only lasts a couple of weeks or so, but when it comes along it really slams me and, while I've had the intention of training for a marathon, I really haven't ever been able to put in the miles.

So...  I'm not sure if there's a question in there...

2014 Goal -- Run 5X per week, pain-free (relatively) by end of summer.

A marathon is nothing special, anyone can do it so long as having enough will power and/or enough time.  If you don't have enough time to properly train for it, then keep running half-marathon is perfectly fine.  Just keep up the consistent running, if you never find the time to properly train, then run a marathon when you get to retire age.  At least that's what I think.

Not to gloat on you but just applying my principle above, I do have more time to run this year, I might run a marathon this year.  And I don't look forward to run a marathon every year, I will be fine with running up to half-marathon most of the years.

Josh,