3650 Miles in the Hurtlocker

Sucker Punches (Read 1095 times)

Prince of Fatness

I'm still trying to figure out how to go forward with my running and am really leaning towards giving up racing for good.  I've been fighting this injury thing for close to two years now and quite frankly I am tired of it.  I've invested a lot of time in getting out there racing again and have very little to show for it.  My leg is better than it was but I still feel a weakness in my right hip.  What's going on is something chronic I think and in that case will it ever really go away?  I am getting to the point where I feel that it is no longer worth the investment to find out.  The other thing is that it just doesn't seem fair to do this to my wife anymore.  She doesn't run so running is time away from her, and every time I have a set back it affects my disposition (as much as I try to not let happen it does).  She puts up with it because it is a healthy habit, but I can run less and still be healthy and have more time to spend with her.

I'm not venting or whining about this, just laying it on the table.  I have actually been in a pretty decent mood as of late.  I have little idea of how much I have ran the last several weeks.  A handful of the runs are still on my Garmin waiting to be downloaded.  I've kind of let this OCD with running thing go indefinitely.

So there you have it.

Not at it at all. 

A Saucy Wench

Can you keep up the running with nothing to train for?  I say that because I am on year 3 of my back/hamstring thing and then it is clear things are never going to heal from my car accident, or from falling down the stairs.  So last year I was going to give up racing.  Partially because everytime I come back I get in some freak accident and lose 3-6 months.  I'm clearly afraid to train hard now because everytime I make progress I quit completely.