Beginners and Beyond

NRR - what do you do for a living? (Read 966 times)

BruceD555

I just want to say one word you you...

Are you listening?

"Plastics"

Cue Simon & Garfunkel

Actually, I'm a mechanical engineer specializing in polymers (consulting, expert witness, design, processing...)

Train smart ... race smarter.

well with legs like that, maybe try modeling. I know of a guy in California named Hugh H that is always looking for pretty people Smile 

Alas, I am stuck. Anyone know of a position in Boston in publishing (of ANY kind), PM me!

”Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.”

“Whether you think you can, or you think you can't--you're right.”

Tomas

cmb4314

I'm a materials scientist.

At my old job, I used a bunch of different lab techniques to characterize touch screen parts that came off of a processing line.  Mostly microscopes of different varieties, or else I literally just stared at the things and looked for defects.  Little bit of chemistry here and there.  This.....was not such an ideal use of my education, but it was a paycheck in a science lab.

At my new job, I am working on formulating dishwashing detergents.  I spend an inordinate amount of time running glasses and cookie sheets through dishwashers.

In case you ever wanted to know, a restaurant caliber dishwasher can clean a load of dishes in a little over a minute, because it uses highly caustic detergents that they would never sell you to use in your home.  This means I can literally run hundreds of test cycles a day.  I'm getting a little tired of dishwashers.  

DH and I will probably start trying to have kids in the next 6 months or so - after 1) I finish my marathon in February and 2) We take our planned trip to Napa in May.  I am not going on a wine tasting vacation while pregnant :P  If all goes according to plan, and assuming nothing changes our financial situation, I may be a stay at home mom at some point in the not so distant future.  

My wildly inconsistent PRs: