Beginners and Beyond

Boston explosions (Read 319 times)

slowrunningjulie

I fly usually a few times per year. I live in New York City. I studied abroad in London a few months after the London subway bombings and took the subway every day. My boyfriend works in Washington DC in a government building. If I stopped to think for long enough about possible terrorist attacks I would be unable to function and do anything. It is a scary, scary world we live in. But we have to go on with our everyday lives. We can't live in fear. We have to take subways, and planes, and run our races. If we stop doing what we want and need to do to live our lives because we are afraid, then they win. We cannot let them win.

Agreed.

Upcoming:

July 27 - San Francisco marathon

Nevrgivup

I'm so glad that you are ok. Such a tragic event. So weird to think how exciting the day was going up to this horrific event. We will not let them win.

I didn't get a chance to try and find you at the finish. Thank you for volunteering. Thank you for helping the victims.

Running is my mental-Ctrl-Alt-Del. 

I just wanted to stop by and send everyone my thoughts and hugs tonight.  My first thought when I heard the news was, I have friends running there!  I logged on earlier to see everyone checking in.  My second thought was, I have to get out there and run!  I am always proud of being a runner amongst all of you, but never as much as now.  I feel so much comfort in a crazy world when I see how runners, whom many have never met personally, band together in the face of tragedy.  I truly, truly love all of you.  Hang in there, to those of you who were there.  I am praying for everyone affected by this.  Was there anyone of us that hasn't been accounted for?

Dr. Cornsitter