Beginners and Beyond

I'm throwing out my Training Schedule (Read 339 times)

eatrunlivehappy

mom/superwoman

I've been running for a couple months now and am running my first marathon april 2013.  I started a scheduled training plan  two weeks ago and I'm just not feeling it.  So I'm throwing it out! 

Running for me is fun, a get away from life, an escape if you will.  I don't want it turning into something I feel I MUST do.  I will have a long run once a week, a strength training day once a week, but I plan on running whatever I feel like turning the week.

I usually run 6 days a week when I'm not following a plan so that's what I will average.

I just want to listen to my body, push myself, and have fun! 

Wish me Luck!

Young mother cooking, eating, and running for both mental and physical health.  And I'm not as serious as that makes me sound :) www.eatrunlivehappy.com

happylily

Good luck!

What do you think your weekly mileage will average to in the coming weeks? Weekly mileage will have a big impact on how your marathon goes. I'm not talking about speed, but about being able to run most of it or walking the last 6 miles. Why don't you keep your plan not too far from you and just tweek it as you go? I always do that myself... I'll change the order of some runs, add a mile or two on good days and run less on days I feel tired or have less time to run. I can't imagine entering something like a marathon, for the first time, whitout some sort of a plan to guide me. Now, after 9 marathons, I would do it. But for my first 3 or 4... no way! You are brave, that's all I can say. :-)

PRs: Boston Marathon, 3:27, April 15th 2013

Cornwall Half-Marathon, 1:35, April 27th 2013

18 marathons, 18 BQs since 2010

Jess runs for bacon

Good luck!