Beginners and Beyond

First Marathon Advice (Read 37 times)

lizardrunner

Hello all! I will be running my first marathon in April of 2018. I plan to start training at the end of November. I'm running the Coastal Delaware Marathon which is a super flat race at the beach.

I have been running for eight years, but never attempted a marathon due to repeated stress fractures. I haven't had a stress fracture in over 3 years now, so I feel like I can finally handle the mileage and intensity of marathon training. I have never run for speed, so my PRs are kind of weird:

Half Marathon - 1:56 (8:52 per mile)

10 miler - 1:34 (9:24 per mile)

10K - 55:01 (9:00 per mile)

I recently introduced speedwork and tempo runs while training for for my leg of the Baltimore relay and I finished with 8:40 splits (6.3 miles total). I'd like to continue to improve my times.

Would 4:15 be a reasonable goal for my marathon time? 

Also, any recommendations for training plans? I really like the look of the Boston Athletic Association Beginners plan so far, but I would like any more suggestions. I'd like to keep my running to 4 days per week due to my injury history. If anyone has experienced stress fractures and still runs marathons I would love to hear anything that has worked for you with prevention/nutrition/anything else.

Thanks!!

Half Crazy K 2.0

Welcome. No experience with stress fractures, but maybe get Hudson's book, Run Faster and see if you can tweak the 3 day master's plan to fit your needs.

And a word of warning about running on the coast. Yes, it's flat. But it is rare that there is not wind, which can be worse than hills. Speaking from experience, ran the Atlantic City half in gale force winds.

Bert-o

I lost my rama