Beginners and Beyond

Please help me choose a marathon training plan (Read 44 times)

KCRuns

I’m looking for advice on a marathon training plan.  I’m considering paying for a McMillan plan, but am unsure which one to purchase, Level 3 or 4 (basic marathon, combo runner is what I’m looking at, unless you have a better idea).

I have run 4 marathons in the past 18 months along with several halfs, and other shorter races along the way.  My marathon PR is 5:06 and I’d love to get under 5 this year if possible.  My next marathon will be Chicago this October, a course I have run twice and my current PR.

I’ve been running for a little over 3 years, female, 42 and am what many would consider to be low-mid mileage, though I am trying to improve in that area.  I am slower than most, and am comfortable running longer on my daily runs to get the mileage, most of the time at least an hour and my long runs are usually over 2 hours outside of a training cycle (longer during a cycle).

I am not new to speedwork, but it’s something I’ve not done consistently.  I had been making good progress in that area earlier this year, then got sick (flu) and had to abandon any speedwork to just be able to get the miles (due to the lingering coughing fits that are finally gone).

Since I have only been at this for 3 years, I still consider myself more a beginner than advanced and often have lots of questions that y’all are great about answering for me.

Which brings me to my question about which plan to purchase.  Based on the number of days and time spent running, I would fit the level 4 plan and the sample week 1 schedule looks similar to what I already run.  However, I can’t see the middle parts of the plan to know if it gets to be more than I can reasonably handle.  The sample week 1 schedule of level 3 looks like a step back, but again I don’t know if the middle/end of it would be a better fit.