Beginners and Beyond

Sort of RR question about diet (Read 84 times)

slowrunningjulie

I am posting here because it is pretty much the only place I can think of where I can post about this problem without getting flamed. So here it is - I need help with eating more calories and maintaining weight in a healthy manner.

Background is this - I have been running since 2009. Started running initially to lose weight after the birth of my second child. From 2009 until mid-2013, I dropped down to and then maintained a weight of about 155. I am 5'6" and at this weight wear about a size 8. I would consider myself to be healthy but "could stand to lose about ten pounds" at that weight. I did not watch my weight or follow any particular diet over this time period, although I am a vegetarian and have been for about 10 years.

About a year ago, I had braces put on my teeth. At the same time that they put the braces on, they also extracted four teeth. I dropped ten pounds in two weeks and ever since that time, I have been continuing to lose weight. This morning I weighed in at 129 pounds and am currently wearing a size 4. I am not doing anything deliberately to lose weight. I cut my food smaller to eat it with the braces, eat slower and am not allowed to eat certain foods, such as popcorn and hard candy. I am running roughly the same amount as last year.