Beginners and Beyond

Advantages of running that have nothing to do with running (Read 122 times)

Zelanie

Because of running, I know the streets in my area really well, particularly which ones cut through, which ones dead end, and how they all connect to each other.

Add yours!

Singer who runs a smidge

The ability to make a very tight connection at the airport ...

When it's all said and done, no one remembers how far we have run.  The only thing that matters is how we have loved.

Love the Half

This actually has everything to do with running but I was never good at following directions anyway.

I typically run in the afternoon from my office.  I have been doing that for over five years.  If you want to run from my office, pick a distance.  Any distance from 1 mile to 20 miles.  I can give you an exact route that will give you that distance and I'll be within 2/10 of whatever distance you select.

Short term goal: 17:59 5K

Mid term goal:  2:54:59 marathon

Long term goal: To say I've been a runner half my life.  (I started running at age 45).

Zelanie

This actually has everything to do with running but I was never good at following directions anyway.

That's a good one, actually.  Maybe I meant "non-physical" advantages of running?  Like the ability to convert distances from standard to metric with ease. Smile

If you want to run from my office, pick a distance.  Any distance from 1 mile to 20 miles.  I can give you an exact route that will give you that distance and I'll be within 2/10 of whatever distance you select.

Replace "office" with "house" and I can do the same.  And I realized about 2 years ago that I knew pretty much exactly how far I was from home no matter where I was currently at in my run.

Jack K.

uʍop ǝpᴉsdn sǝʇᴉɹʍ ʇI

Replace "office" with "house" and I can do the same.  And I realized about 2 years ago that I knew pretty much exactly how far I was from home no matter where I was currently at in my run.

This is me as well.