Beginners and Beyond

Salisbury Half Marathon Race Report (Read 43 times)

Half Crazy K 2.0

Summary

Salisbury Half Marathon, 2:10:20

Not Race Related

Aside from being flat, I wanted to do a race in Salisbury. My grandparents had retired to the area (they are no longer alive), so I was down here quite a bit as a kid. Plus, I did my undergrad at Salisbury State University (the state was dropped after I graduated, but the diploma in the bathroom says SSU, so I still call it that). I also have done loads of miles cycling on these roads, so I knew it was truly flat, aside from some overpasses and the park. It was a cool thing to run on the route of the Seagull Century, identified by painted birds on the road, the bridge at mile 7 or so really sucks in mile 90 something.

Goals

No A, B or C. PR (2:05:41).

Pre-Race

I drove down to Salisbury Friday afternoon. I took about 2.5 hours, a little longer than I thought it would, and I would have to do that post race. I stayed at a La Quinta within walking distance to the start & finish.

Friday evening I drove up to the Walmart to get some Gatorade for post race and cheap socks to make some arm warmers.

Saturday I set my alarm for 6:30. I got woken up just after 6 by loud ass people in the hall. Free breakfast started at 6:30, so I killed a little time and went downstairs. Pretty much everyone up at the time was there for the race. I had on street clothes, everyone else was in full race attire, numbers included. I’m too clumsy, no way do I want to risk spilling breakfast all over myself.