Beginners and Beyond

one more view of Boston (Read 165 times)

runwell3

hello,

I've never written a race report before this,  mainly because I'm not the brightest lamp on the street, but also because I'm just a much better listener than a talker.  So be warned: boring stuff ahead probably filled with rambling, typos, and grammatical errors.  But I need to try anyway.

Thank you  to each of the other Boston R.R. writers...I've learned so much that I hope to be able to apply if I'm ever fortunate enough to get back there.  Congratulations on such awesome runs!

background blah blah blah

17,534 runners were fortunate enough to finish the Boston Marathon this year.  17.056 finished ahead of me, so you know right off the bat that there was no glory in my run on this day.  As a pedestrian, recreational runner, what had started as the joy of a dream come true devolved into what could easily be seen as an epic fail   As a human being…well, I’m still just trying to wrap my head around what all this means and why.

Five years and 40lbs ago, I had a notion that maybe I could do a 5k fun run at Disney with my daughter and sister.  I was 57, and active, but the only running I had ever done was incidental to other sports.  So for those first attempts at couch-5k,  I remember trying to run 1 minute/walk 4 and looking at my watch, gassed, to see that only 35 seconds had passed.  But I persevered, and gradually built some endurance.