Beginners and Beyond

Best Training Plan For "You" (Read 139 times)

LRB

Because it's easy to follow, gave good results, or helped you achieve your goal.

Did one plan work better for a particular distance, while another worked for a different distance?

MJ5

Chief Unicorn Officer

I don't use a plan, but lately I've been looking into Lydiard and periodization principles (I've actually started a Lydiard-esque base phase). I am averse to plans, though, so I'm really just taking the important elements and putting things together myself.

Mile 5:49 - 5K 19:58 - 10K 43:06 - HM 1:36:54

Philliefan33

I'm still new at this, so I'm making progress just by running more. I've tried to follow a plan a couple of times but it made running feel like work so each time I got fed up with the plan and went back to just running.

That said, I am trying to learn about the purpose of the different kinds of workouts in most plans.  Little by little I am incorporating different kinds of workouts into my running (for example I do long runs regularly and dabble in Fartleks or tempo runs), but it's on my terms, not from a plan

Im not dissing plans-- they just don't work for me right now. Maybe at some point I'll think differently.

crazyrunninglady

Warrior Princess

I'm still new at this, so I'm making progress just by running more. I've tried to follow a plan a couple of times but it made running feel like work so each time I got fed up with the plan and went back to just running.

That said, I am trying to learn about the purpose of the different kinds of workouts in most plans.  Little by little I am incorporating different kinds of workouts into my running (for example I do long runs regularly and dabble in Fartleks or tempo runs), but it's on my terms, not from a plan

Im not dissing plans-- they just don't work for me right now. Maybe at some point I'll think differently.

I used to say that and now I have inspired a poll!

MJ5

Chief Unicorn Officer