Beginners and Beyond

RR - the College Avenue mile (Read 62 times)

music_girl117

This was my first time to try the mile! I’d really been looking forward to this race, as I am more of a speed-oriented runner than a long distance one. After running a 22:53 5k five weeks ago, I decided that a 6:40 mile would be a good solid goal to shoot for; not out of reach, but not a given either. As per the advice of the folks here, I focused on 400s at goal pace. I did a time trial a week ago and got 6:53, and it was godawful by the end; every part of me hurt. But during my final speedwork session earlier this week, I did notice that the 6:40 pace was feeling a bit easier. Not easy, but just a little more relaxed than it had been, and I felt pretty encouraged.

The race was on Saturday night - two loops around some city blocks, and I got to watch a lot of heats before my turn came up. I studied the people in the heats before mine, especially the guys and girls that were in the lead in the really fast heats, and noticed how controlled they looked throughout, as opposed to the people who were coming in to the finish looking like they were about to die. I reminded myself again not to go out too fast!

There were apparently ~300 people signed up, and for those aged 39 and under, the heats were organized by projected finish time. I had seeded myself in the sub-7 group, and there were probably 30 or so people (both guys and girls) in my heat. I was terrified as my heat was approaching! Like, I was actually shaking. Sounds funny, since you know you can finish a mile race, but I knew it was going to be really painful by the end, and I guess just the overall unfamiliarity of the distance was getting to me. I have *never* felt so jittery before a race before, and I figured I’d be fine once we got going, but the waiting was just terrible.