Beginners and Beyond

Gym Membership for Kids (Read 111 times)

MrNamtor

So I was out in San Francisco this weekend for my FIL's 84th birthday, and of course I'm sitting on the end of the table with the kids. My 16 yo niece and my 12 yo nephew start talking about school athletes and then working out in general and my nephew starts talking about some kid who he calls a "scrub" because he doesn't have a gym membership, and lifts weights in his garage.

So I said "wait a minute, I started lifting weights when i was 13 and I didn't have a gym membership. All I had was a barbell with about 80 lbs of weights and i used to lift in my basement. Does that make me a scrub?". Stupid question because of course they both said "YES" instantly.

My BIL came to the rescue though and said "You had weights? All we had in my basement when i was a kid were roaches. We had to lift bags of roaches to get in shape!" Then the convo went on from there.

But I mean really, kids are looked down upon by other kids if they don't have gym memberships? I guess that's a good thing, because at least they care about fitness and are doing it the right way. It was just sort of a shock to me.

So who here has teenage kids,and do they have gym memberships? Did your kids ask you for memberships because their friends all had them?

On a related and more disturbing note, the kids also told me that "most" of the HS athletes are on steroids and testosterone shots. Do you think this is true?

Zelanie

I wonder if the kids are on their parents' gym membership as a family deal, so maybe the kids without gym memberships are the ones whose families can't afford a gym for anybody in the family?