Beginners and Beyond

Race Report: The Los Angeles Marathon (Read 60 times)

You Rang?

It’s been said that the Los Angeles Marathon should be nobody’s first marathon.  From the rather hilly course to the unpredictable winter weather, folks who run the LA Marathon as their first tend to make it their last.

Yesterday, I learned firsthand the brutality that is the Los Angeles Marathon.  Although I’ve lived in Southern California most of my life and for my entire running career, I’d never run the LA Marathon.  It’s usually held in March, a crazy busy time at work.  So when the US Track & Field Association chose LA as the site of the Olympic trials and a date of February 13, the LA Marathon advanced the date of the open race to February 14th.  I saw this as my one and maybe only opportunity to run the LA Marathon.

Training

After blowing up big in Santa Rosa trying to chase down Oprah Winfrey’s 1994 MCM marathon time, I started training for LA in early October.  I told myself that I would catch Oprah and run the LA marathon faster than 4:29:20.

Straight away, I made some changes to my training plan.  I dumped Pete Pfitzinger in favor of Hal Higdon’s Advanced I training plan.  While the mileage was about the same between the plans, I seemed to be better adapted to the lower daily mileage and six day a week training plan Higdon offers.  I found over the 18 weeks of the training plan that if schedule or circumstance called for two rest days, it was relatively easy to double up one day and get the miles in.

Also I slowed down my training pace.  In mid October I had the opportunity to run as a pacer.  I ran a 10K race at an 11:00 minute mile pace.  This pace is much slower than my 10k race pace.  I found that after running 6.2 miles at an 11:00 mm pace, I felt tired.  I felt like I got a good workout in.  I realized that there may be some truth to slowing the training runs down.