Beginners and Beyond

Blue Ox Marathon RR (Debut) (Photos added on pg2) (Read 114 times)

Brrrrrrr

Uffda

TL;DR: I ran my debut marathon. I held my goal pace through 17 miles and was heading for a 3:45. Then I started giving back time and came in at 3:59:52. My "C" goal was sub 4, so I barely hit it. I felt like crap after I finished.

Long version:

I'm like most of you. Actually the people I'm not like are those who started out in good physical shape and/or at normal weight. I started out a 29 year old overweight guy who couldn't run for a few minutes. My first year of running consisted of a handful of 5ks, the fastest of which was 27Tight lippedx, so basically 9 minute miles. Yesterday I checked something off of my bucket list, and the reason I started running over 2.5 years ago.

After my first year of running I started training for the 10k but then realized when I was reguarily running 6 miles that I should go for the HM instead. My second year of running I ran one or two 10ks, a 15k, a 10 mile and 3 HMs. I wasn't very fast, clocking all of my HMs in over 2 hours.

I trained hard over the winter. There are no races from about December until Marchish, when the Saint Patrick's Day races begin. My plan over the winter was basically work on half marathon type training, but at a higher intensity. I was hitting the intensity, just not really the distance. I wasn't doing a LR on many weekends, so my average mileage was only in the high 20s or low 30s.