Beginners and Beyond

RR- So I ran a 15k today (Read 45 times)

PleasantRidge

Warm&fuzzy

This is my first RR, so be patient and don't have high expectations for my prose.

Today was the 6th annual Run For Don.  There is a 5k and this year they added a 15k.  It's a small race in Gainesboro, TN.  The biggest portion of the 15k was along the Cumberland River.  It's a very pretty, and pretty flat-to-me course. After letting RA correct it,  it has about 1200 ft of elevation gain.

I went into this race after a great summer of running.  I've stayed healthy, and have gotten a little faster.  The thing I have noticed most the last few months is how strong I feel, even after 15+ miles.  Anyway, I went into this race with three possible goals, C -1:25:00, B- 1:23:30, A- 1:22:00.  I beat my B goal and am very pleased with it.  I have very little race experience, so just seeing that I could hang to the end without fading was a great confidence booster.

The splits:

1  8:48
    2  8:43
    3  9:17 (pee break, dammit)
    4  8:49
    5  8:40
    6  8:46
    7  8:47
    8  9:04 (water station)
    9  8:49
    10  0.37 mi  8:35

Total 1:22:49 according to my Timex, which should be right with the gun.

It was about 60 and sunny at the start, and about 70 and sunny at the end.  The course was in and out of the shade, and I got pretty damn hot.  I don't usually drink anything if I'm running under 14 or so, but I got thirsty today.  I am pleased with my split consistency, considering my lack of experience at this racing thing.  I did have an asskicking week at work, with the last 3 days on a large hardwood install.  I know my legs would have been fresher without that.

Next up for me is a 1/2 on Oct 17th.  I feel very confident I can beat 2 hours.  Depending on how the next couple of weeks go, I may have a 1:55-1:57 goal.  Thanks for sharing a good running moment with me.

TL;DR

Middle-aged dude ran a slow 9.3 miles and feels good about it.

Runner with a riding problem.

onemile