Beginners and Beyond

I need to Rant about Something.......... (Read 50 times)

FreeSoul87

Runs4Sanity

Okay, so not all know but I've been running since 2010. Through struggles and injuries and pregnancy and post and blah blah blah. Granted, I am not a fast runner and never will be. I didn't run my first half marathon until a year and a half after starting and I ran my first full 4 years later, with many half marathons in between. In 2016 I ran two trail marathons.

I know I don't train specifically to get faster, and I do a lot of weight training which probably doesn't help at all. I'm okay with that, I love running AND I love weight lifting. I don't care if I will always be a mid-packer when it comes to long distances.

Now for my rant....

There's a guy I grew up with, he only played baseball and was always kind of chubby. Never really showed interest in running up until 2017, I noticed on his facebook he had started running. He lost quite a bit of weight (you can look him up - Jeff Stilwell), and he was training with a few of the fast runners in my area. Last year I started noticing many of his race times were just crazy sub 7 min/miles, I would say closer to 6 min/miles, even his half marathon. He was placing!!! Curious, I looked at some pics they had showing him, the guy looked like he was jogging 8-10 min/miles....... compared the elites who looked like they were sprinting or pushing it.

My jealousy immediately said "cheater", but I blew it off and told myself I was just being jealous of how amazing he is doing with less than 2 years of getting into running.

This last Saturday he ran the Carmel, IL marathon with a sub 3 hour finish............ 

In his post, he claimed he hadn't made his plans public due to fear of not doing it or finishing...... hell I didn't care if I finished or not when I trained for me first marathon, I told EVERYBODY.