Beginners and Beyond

RR - Boston Marathon 4/15/2019 (Read 74 times)

Executive Summary

1st Boston, 11th marathon

Finish time 3:26:16

A glorious day and a miserable one

Background

I had been targeting a 3:30 to qualify since fall 2014. I finally ran BQs in fall 2016 and spring 2017, but missed the cutoff. Then ran a 3:23:39 in fall 2017, much better than my goal or expectation for that race, to give myself a comfortable margin to get in. That was fortunate because the cutoff ended up at 4:52, and if I had just hit my goal I wouldn't have made it.

The next marathon (and my last before this one) was April 2018. Originally thought I could better my PR and BQ time. But training for that was awful. I was battling a couple injuries, and all my runs were dreadfully slow and sluggish - paces from easy on down were 30-60 sec slower than in the past. Ran the race anyway, ended up at 3:51 for my worst performance in 4 years. Never figured out what was behind all that. Decided to take a couple weeks off after the race, but injuries did not appear to be healing and still felt like crap overall. I was beginning to wonder if my running career as I knew it was over. Tried to maintain cardio via stationary bike, an exercise in futility, and feared this is what my life had become. Finally, after a couple weeks turned into 4 full months of no running, I started back up again with some stiff, creaky runs in September. It was around this time that I applied & was accepted into Boston. I had been pretty concerned during this whole time that I wouldn't be able to run it. But after a month or two of ramping back up, started to feel back to normal.

And after 2-3 months, I started to feel better than ever. On Thanksgiving, ran a respectable 5k. In December, surprised myself with a 10k only 2 sec off my PR. And two weeks later, ran a 5k also 2 sec off PR. (Both would have been PR if based on Garmin distance.) I felt really ready for a solid training cycle.

Training