Beginners and Beyond

North Shore 1/2 Marathon RR (Read 80 times)

Runshortii

What: North Shore Half Marathon

Results: 1:49:11. Age Group: 14/83 (F 20-24) 180/1336-Females. Overall: 563/2390

28 seconds off my PR of 1:48:43. 8 some minutes off my PR of 1:57 on this course last year.

This was my 4th HM, and last year this was my first ever HM. I've been running since 2004, but took 2 1/2 years off during college and started up again last year (hence the big difference in my PRs from last year and from back in 2008) I didn't run much this winter as I had just started my nursing clinicals and had a hard time balancing running/work/school. Started running "seriously" again around mid March. Ran a HM 4 weeks ago in 2:06 that I ran with a friend and just kind of used as a long run, which is uncharacteristic of me since I am very competitive, but I knew I was not in racing shape. The last 4 weeks I've trained pretty decent, but haven't incorporated much speedwork except for 1 tempo run and 1 day of 1000s repeats.

Going into this race I knew a PR was extremely unlikely (PR is 1:48:43) given it's a pretty hilly course and I haven't done much speedwork lately. The one tempo run I did was an 8:24 pace, and to PR I'd need an 8:18 so I wasn't counting on it. I still wanted to race all out though to see where I was since I start marathon training next week for my first marathon in the fall. I haven't ran any shorter races lately to gauge where I'm at, so I really had no idea what I would run. I ran a 1:57 on this course last year, and decided I'd be happy with anything under 1:55.