Beginners and Beyond

Help me pick a marathon plan! (Read 74 times)

Zelanie

I am training for the Portland Marathon, which will be my first.  It's in October.  Since whatever plan I pick will become a huge part of my life for most of the summer and fall, I'd like to make sure that I'm choosing one that's going to be a good fit.  Also, even though it will be a debut marathon, I think I have enough of a base that I absolutely plan to run it as a race, not just an "experience the marathon" sort of event.  So I want a plan that will be challenging enough to get me to the starting line well prepared.

Background on me:

I've been running for about two years, and my 3rd HM is this coming Sunday.  I trained for two of my HMs using the 50-MPW plan in Pfitz's "Road Running for Serious Runners."  I'm really comfortable in the 40-some MPW level now, and can run up to 50 MPW with speedwork (LR, MLR, and speedwork a la Pfitz).  I've run up to 70 MPW before with no speedwork, but honestly that week took a lot out of me.  For LR's, I've done 15 so far a few times.  I'm pretty consistent with my training and can comfortably run 6 days a week or doubles if needed.

My weaknesses:

I think I'm still new enough that my body hasn't necessarily adapted to the level of training that the mind and lungs are really wanting to do.  I'd love to peak at 70 MPW, but I don't know that's realistic this time around.  I'm pretty sure I could get up into the mid-60s, though, over the course of my training.  But I might have to adjust that depending on how things go.

I'm used to doing my long runs as true long slow runs.  I mean, they've been in the proper pace range according to the Daniels calculator, but I haven't run a lot of MP miles or done much work on pace on LR days.  Realistically, I think I'd be able to add to the distance of my LRs, OR add quality work to my LRs, but I don't know that I could do both.