Beginners and Beyond

any advice for a cross-country race? (Read 45 times)

music_girl117

So I just signed up for a cross-country race (5k distance).  I have never done one before, and I was wondering how it will be different from a road 5k.  My running is very nearly 100% road and treadmill, so I am a little apprehensive.

FWIW, I am told that this particular course is not technical - grass and packed dirt with only one hill.  So maybe I am worrying over nothing...

PRs:

5k - 22:53  (May 2015)

10k - 50:00 (unofficial; part of 20k race, March 2015); 50:33 (official; July 2016)

HM - 1:48:40  (Apr. 2015)

Hip Redux

Don't judge pace by what you are used to on roads, go by effort.

bluerun

Super B****

This.  My main objective in such cases is not run as fast as possible, but don't land on your face.

Okay, it's run as fast as possible without falling on your face.  Same difference.

chasing the impossible

because i never shut up ... i blog

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

Running on a surface you aren't used to may fatigue you more quickly. Cross country courses will engage a lot more of  the small muscles used to stabilize your foot plant and stride.

2024 Races:

03/09 - Livingston Oval Ultra 6-Hour, 22.88 miles

05/11 - D3 50K
                05/25 - What the Duck 12-Hour

06/17 - 6 Days in the Dome 12-Hour.

Half Crazy K 2.0

Definitely go by effort. I find running on grass is more difficult than packed trails, mainly because it is not an even surface and the grass can hide some of that. If you can, maybe try to do a few runs on grass just to get used to it.