Beginners and Beyond

My busted knee thread aka WOE IS ME, WOE IS ME! (Read 659 times)

delicate flower

Thanks for all the kind words.  I appreciate them more than you know.  I told DW last night that I'd stop feeling sorry for myself now and focus my energy on recovering and moving forward.

I spoke to my PCP last night and asked him to order me an MRI, since knee doc can't order one until he sees me.  PCP doc said no problem.  I'll get that scheduled today.  I also know someone who can read MRI's and he said he'd take a look at the images.  PCP also gave me the ok to do some upper body weight training as long as I don't use my legs, so at least I can go to the gym and do something.

I don't plan to stop skiing.  I've been skiing for 15 years and really this is only like the fourth bad injury I've suffered skiing.  Big grin  Seriously though, I enjoy skiing too much and it's something DW and I spend a lot of time doing together.  It's worth the risk.  I don't think it's that much more dangerous than all the cycling we do while risking being hit by cars (which has also happened), or impaling ourselves while mountain biking (which has also happened).  I suppose when you play hard, it's just a matter of time until you wind up on the DL.

I am still optimistic that I'll be able to run my HM on Feb 23.  That's seven weeks away.  I already know I won't be able to give it full effort, but I'll be thrilled if I can shuffle myself 13.1 miles by then.  I'll do what the doc says though.

<3

RabbitChaser

Sorry to hear about your injury! I hope you have a smooth, speedy recovery. I'm currently dealing with the no running rule from the Dr. as well. Hopefully, I'll be able to resume again in 2 more weeks.

fourouta5

Healed Hammy

Heat and humidity do wonders to heal joints.

Move to Miami and run with Damaris... stat.

paulski66

miscreant

Dude...really sorry to hear this. I hope it's not as bad as you're dreading it is, and that you have a speedy recovery.