Couch to 5K and One Hour Runners

Hi all! I'm a newbie!!! (Read 258 times)

Hi everyone! I am new here...lurking forEVER it seems, but never started until now. I finally started the C25K program on 2/4/08. I have never run before in my life, except in school when FORCED to. I've always wanted to though. I haven't actually worked out in over 10 years, before I had my daughter. Needless to say, I feel like I am SOOO far behind most of the people here but I'm going to give it a "TRUE" effort. I want to lose weight as well as get in shape. My goal is to run in a 5K with my daughter later this year. She runs a lot in her karate training but neither my husband nor I do any form of exercise. So, because diet alone hasn't changed anything major, we've both decided to start an exercise regimen. So, for my first walk/run, I couldn't even do the basic 60/90 run/walk combo listed on the C25K program. Is it okay to start out walking at a moderate pace, add in a couple of 60 second "sprints", then walk again? If so, how do I know how long to do it (other than falling out b/c I'm out of shape)... I really enjoy reading all of your input and information and appreciate you all being here. It is motivation to me to see how long some of you have been into running, how its changed your lives, and knowing that one day, I'll be there too. Take care, Amber
    obiebyke

Welcome Amber! Yay for newbies! Start where you can. Walking is fine. And if you can jog a little, do it. Don't sprint! Who was it who has talked about measuring intervals by light pole to light pole? That might be a good way to do it. Hope you post your log soon. That'll help everyone keep up with you.

Call me Ray (not Ishmael)

Hi Obiebyke. So I don't truly sprint, just light jog. Blush I think if I sprinted now I'd pass out and fly off the back of my treadmill Shocked I did do a couple of 60 second light jogs at intervals though which felt good. Smile

Loose Cannon