Couch to 5K and One Hour Runners

New Year check in (Read 316 times)

obiebyke

Hi all, I just joined the group. I have been running for a few months but have hit a bit of a wall in how to increase time and distance, so I'm going to see how this C25K thing goes for me. I noticed that there isn't much going on on the board, so thought I'd get 2008 started with a check in. Depending on response, I'd be down to start a thread for everyone regularly. Me: I got stalled doing 3 minute run/1 minute brisk walk for 20 minutes, then a longer weekend run of 1 mile without stopping. I think a lot of the problem was lack of consistency, and I like the regimented schedule the C25K program offers. And it fits right in with my January goal of running 3x/wk. So I've decided to start with Week 3, Workout 1. I'll check in later today when I've completed it. My race goal: a March 23rd 5K. Very doable, I think/hope.

Call me Ray (not Ishmael)

Wingz

Professional Noob

Hi, obiebyke! Sounds like you've come to the right place then! Glad to have ya and looking forward to hearing from you! Perhaps we can stir things up a bit in this group... Evil grin

Roads were made for journeys...

obiebyke

Hey, Wingz. Even though you seem swell, hopefully it won't always be just the two of us, eh? Tongue Just got back from my Week 3, Workout 1. I'm not used to doing a warmup and cooldown, and it was a lot more recovery and a lot less running than I've been used to, but I think it's a promising start. Maybe I was doing it all wrong before! I just have to give myself a break and not worry about the pace difference, since now I'm counting more walking in my pacing calcs. Anyone else? Bueller?

Wingz

Professional Noob