Couch to 5K and One Hour Runners

I am a One Hour Runner Graduate (Read 284 times)

theyapper

On the road again...

Let's file this thread in the "If I can do it, anybody can do it" category. Wink This morning I got up early and headed out the door for my final run of the One Hour Runner program. It was dark and cool with a bit of a breeze and it felt great. I could not have had a better morning for running an hour. I had already decided that pace didn't matter today - the only goal was to actually run the entire 60 minutes no matter what distance I did - or didn't - cover. Along the way I got to watch the sunrise (which for me is always like God peeking in on my run) and it was beautiful. The only time I felt tired was when I hit 4 hills in a row, but I knocked them out and got back into the nice, relaxed rhythm that I had for the entire run. I felt strong, confident, and I chuckled just about the entire way thinking about how far this running journey has brought me in such a short time. When my watch hit 60:00, I checked the distance and had been 5.8 miles. You couldn't have pried the smile off my face with a crowbar! Everyone who is so faithfully putting in your miles and intervals on the C25K program, the pay off is worth it. For you OHRs here who are plugging away, don't quit. At the beginning of April I had never run a day in my life, and now, 20 weeks later, I've logged over 200 miles, lost almost 20 pounds, and (yes, this is the best part)... ...running is a lifestyle. It's no longer just a 9 or 10 week experiment. It is a part of who I am and what I do. I can't wait to see each of you cross the line at the end, too.

I write. I read. I run. One time, I ran a lot on my 50th birthday.

Paul

Baby bean!

Congratulations!!! Very inspiring! Big grin

Goals:
      Finish C25K

I'm slower than a herd of turtles stampeding through peanut butter, but I run.

zzz