Marathon Trainers

Week of 2/7/2011 (Read 233 times)

AmoresPerros

Options,Account, Forums

Paul, that looks great, the speeding up at the end of a long run. Nice job.

I'm hoping to do that tomorrow morning, if I can drag my lazy rear up early and get to the long run, and of course if my energy holds out at the end.

I raced this morning. Went better than I imagined. My secondary goal was time, and I did very well on that, but my primary goal was to beat my series AG competitors. It's my first year in a new series 5y AG, and I wanted to start by lighting a fire under them, as this was the 2nd shortest of the series races and I do better comparatively in the shorter races. It went so well that I was hoping to get a race AG award (they're based on 10yrs, not 5, and out of everyone that raced, not just series competitors, so I wasn't sure if I'd place). Well, I placed out of the AG, which I've never done at a series race -- they gave me 1st masters. Very happily surprised. Actually I missed the award, as we were helping marshal the kids race during the OA awards, and we only got there in time for AG awards, but a friend had received my blanket (award) and gave it to us.

It's a 5k. It hurt like hell...then I tried to pick it up. The end.

Cashmason

Way cool on the award Perry !

In triathlon we refer to your kind of people as  fastholes, even if you are really nice.

Translation,  we slower people are jealous.

Nice win, Perry!

I'm taking a few days off of running, as we'll be skiing for the next few days.  I looked at the running terrain, and it is a little hilly: http://www.runningahead.com/logs/db816ba95fe7403490ba401d30cb44ae/courses/4df40cc3d01b4fc9ba9ca9feb403d49d .  Nothing Erika wouldn't do, but it would be tough on me before a day of skiing.

I don't know if I'll chafe or if the skiing will be enough, but I expect the latter.