Marathon Trainers

Week of 3/29/2010 (Read 238 times)

Hmm, I'm no expert, either, Pam or Kim.  I think whatever gives you confidence will be fine.  Hills will give you some stress, but you're still two weeks out and you are both pretty young Smile.  I do a three week taper myself, though, being an old guy.

Yesterday was 7 miles @ 8:06 pace, including 8x20s striders.  Today I plan 8 and will probably modify this post before the lot of you wake up Smile

MTA: 8.2 miles, 1:06:04, 8:02/mi, AHR 156 (76% MHR)

Lou, (aka Mr. predawnrunner), MD, USA | Lou's Brews | lking@pobox.com

Kimmie

Well,   I've had some issues with my right calf again.  I think I may tentatively plan for a last long run on the flat and if it's bothering me, then cut it short.  I think the half did give me an idea of MP but it was such a crazy start, that I wasn't sure if I could have run it a bit faster.  Also, I don't run long runs too fast, I don't think, but I was starting to wonder if it was possible to run them too slow.  Smile    I think it's hard to know what will work best, even after running this many marathons.  There always seem to  be so many mitigating circumstances.   For example, Myrtle Beach was a good race for me, and my last long run before that was 4 weeks out or something... I hardly trained at all from being sick.   So, what does that mean?  I need to stop running now?   Or did I just get lucky that day and benefit from the flat course?

Good run with my group last night... headed to a friend's River house for a few days and will run some down there.

Nice to see you running strong again, Lou!  Smile

theyapper

On the road again...

Kim - for most, tapering means running less headed to the race.  For you it includes puking.  Sounds like that formula really paid off for you at Myrtle Beach. 

I got 4.5 in today.  Put me just over 100 miles for the month.  That's the first time over the 100 mark since last October.  'Bout time.