Drinkers with a Running Problem

Home Brewers... (Read 1606 times)

...---...

Hi All, Had to join up here, hope you don't mind. I'm such a pale ale hound that I've seriously considered brewing my own. There's a alot of info on the net but so confusing. I'm a chemist by training so I get it but wonder if all the stuff in these starter kits is really needed. I have a ton of questions on yeast and hops varieties. WOuld appreciate some guidance on getting started. Cheers!

San Francisco - 7/29/12

Warrior Dash Ohio II - 8/26/12

Chicago - 10/7/12

I can help with that. How do we begin?

Lou, (aka Mr. predawnrunner), MD, USA | Lou's Brews | lking@pobox.com

...---...

First, Merry Christmas! Secondly, excellent. I need to get a starters kit, I suppose. Any recommendations on sources or essential items?

San Francisco - 7/29/12

Chicago - 10/7/12

...---...

I'm assuming the links in your sig are where you would send me. Not quite awake yet, but I see plenty to read up on through this.

San Francisco - 7/29/12

Chicago - 10/7/12

Merry Christmas! Beer Beer and More Beer (www.morebeer.com) is a great place to shop on the internet, but I always like to support the local homebrew shop (LHBS). They might be a little more expensive than the internet shops, but by buying locally you'll be helping to keep them in business and also you'll make relationships where you can go to ask questions. Oh, and please don't let the looks of my brewery scare you off. I'm a little over the top, but you should be able to get started for I think $100-$150, maybe even less. Most brewers brag about how inexpensive their equipment is, and relish in finding used equipment on the cheap. Our LHBS also sponsors a homebrewing club. You might want to look for one in your area. A club is a great place to learn what works and what doesn't work, to share your beers, and to share others'. If you'd like to reach me offline, feel free to contact me at lking at pobox dot com. Best of luck.

...---...