Low HR Training

Tapering for Marathon (Read 488 times)

Preto

How long do you taper before a marathon? Typically, training programs call for a three week taper but I'm wondering if anyone training LHR shortens that a bit. I have been running for about 6 years but have only been training LHR for about 1 year. In my previous marathons (before LHR), I reached the three week point feeling wasted and totally looking forward to the decrease in mileage (overtrained!). However, this time, due to the sub-MAF running, I feel fresh and feel like I could run the marathon tomorrow. Will I still benefit from a three week taper even though I feel great right now? Or should I keep my mileage up until the marathon? I currently train about 40 - 50 miles a week and have experienced amazing improvements with LHR training. Thanks!

run-easy-race-hard

I don't taper at all before marathons other than to perhaps take it a bit easier the day before.
        For a goal race marathon. I usually do a 2 week taper. So, two weeks out my long run 18 miles, then one week out 10 to 12. About 45 to 50 miles the week before is where I like to end up. Then the week before I'll run 25 miles or so with a rest day before the race. My peak mileage is 80 to 85. If my mileage was 50 a week, there wouldn't be much of a taper. (personally speaking)
        Shiksa

Really? No taper is necessary unless maximum effort will be used? I may have to redo my schedule a bit.

Stacy
          I make no apologies for my liberal use of smiley icons. http://www.BlakeHillHouse.com

BeeRunB

My best marathons have come after a three week taper with lots of extra rest. --Jimmy
            gregw