Low HR Training

Complete newbie to low HR training plz help (Read 26 times)

Jari65

Hi I have been running around 6years starting late in life 44. After being injured I came across the maffetone method on the web and it brought me here . I know there's lots of info saying it's frustrating g at first but I didn't realise just how frustrating it is !!! I only started this yesterday so very new I find I can run for only 50 m before my HR monitor starts to beep  at 130 (180-50) so I walk and allow my HR to drop back to 110 then set off again my question is do you just run normally until you reach your target and then walk  and repeat Ive tried a very slow jog which makes my knees ache and also I've tried really upping my cadence with very small steps but both push my HR back above 130 what's the best way to slow down ?? Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated

Jan

BeeRunB

Hi Jan, welcome to the forum. 

At first, It's a choice between walking or shortening your stride to keep your heart rate at MAF or below. Your body should get used to a shorter stride after awhile. I'm able to run pretty slow when I need to (17:00-18:00 pace no problem). Either way, your aerobic system will start to build, and before you know it, you'll be getting faster at the same heart rate, and you can lengthen your stride. That's the name of the game: get faster at MAF, and stay healthy.  Ive been able to get faster running at MAF from a period of just long brisk walks, so I know walking won't hurt you, but will only help. A walk-run interval method is a great way to rebuild.

It can be frustrating at first for some, but it doesn't have to be, if one can understand that the slowness is not only temporary, but also indicative that one's aerobic system is deficient, and this type of work is needed, especially if you've been injured or overtrained.

Good luck to you. Come over to the daily thread and keep us posted on your progress and training runs. 

Jari65