Low HR Training

New member, first impressions (Read 32 times)

HMHi everybody,

Im now in my sixth week running under MAF principles; I've reading this forum a couple of weeks and I would like to share my little experience/numbers.

I've been running for three years, the firs two years I improved my race times and pace in a constant basis, but this last year I feel stucked and I see no more improvement. I have always suffered in long races, no matter how hard I train I always bonk in longer distances. This year I ran my first marathon and I bonked since km 16 despite my pace was no faster than any of my training long runs.  So I decide to change the things and I discovered MAF after reading one MarK Cucuzella's articles about aerobic trainng.

I'm 40 years old, 6 feet tall and about 160 lbs (73kgs). Max hr 200

My PRs are:

5k :  21:00

10k: 44:36

HM : 01:42:36

M :    04:09:11 Undecided

Im using 140 as MAF hr, Iwas dobtful about adding +5 but I finally I decided to be conservative.

Here is the result of my first two tests, first one is before starting MAF training

<colgroup><col width="120" /><col width="85" /><col width="90" /><col width="56" /><col width="88" /><col width="85" /><col width="64" /></colgroup>
    DATE   19/10/2013     9/11/2013  
    TEMP(ºC)   16     15  
    MOIST.   94 %     55%  
    SHOES   VFF     VFF  
    AVERAGE HR   140     141  
      Time Pace( min/km) HR Time Pace HR
    MILE 1 12:08:00 7:35:00 140 11:11:00 6:58:00 140
    MILE 2 12:16:00 7:40:00 139 11:48:00 7:22:00 141
    MILE 3 12:25:00 7:46:00 140 12:08:00 7:34:00 141
    MILE 4 12:55:00 8:04:00 140 12:43:00 7:57:00 140
    MILE 5 13:16:00 8:18:00 140 12:52:00 8:01:00 140
    AVERAGE 12:36:00 7:52:36 140 12:08:24 7:34:24 142

Comparing my mile times wit the 5k prediction charts looks like my aerobic systems  is totally unbalanced!!

The best is that I feel very good with this training, well rested and I can train almost every day.