Low HR Training

Okay to train under MAF? (Read 46 times)

blue22

I'm relatively new to MAF (3 weeks) and simply cannot get comfortable running in my MAF heart beat range (180-age = 137 with a 10-beat buffer, so 127-137). I am more relaxed and able to get into a groove above 137 or below 127. I don't know, maybe this is a mental thing???

At any rate, I figure slower is better for LHR, but is there such as thing as too slow in the basebuilding phase? If I hang at say 123-125, am I still helping build aerobic fitness or am I just spinning my wheels?

(For reference, 43, F, 40-50K/wk runner for 5 years, no racing, no upcoming race plans. Strictly fitness, enjoyment, and injury prevention.)

Buzzie

Bacon Party!

Your block may well be mental.

It may also be that - with your current level of fitness - you're not able to run a pace in the MAF range that allows you to maintain reasonable running form.

Above it, you may be "running." Below it, you may be "jogging." And, in it, you might be in a sort of biomechanical no-man's land.

For now.

As you develop your aerobic fitness, you will be able to run the sort of pace you're now hitting ABOVE 137 in your MAF range (i.e., going faster at a lower HR). At that point, running in your MAF range would certainly be more comfortable than it is at this moment.

To answer your second question - yes, you will still be building aerobic fitness exercising below your MAF range. However, as Maffetone says, probably not as quickly as you would working closer to your MAF HR.

Muscle contractions at this lower level of exertion are weaker (lower force production), so muscle fiber recruitment needs aren't as high ... the muscle fibers that ARE needed, just aren't being taxed particularly hard, so they're less prone to fatigue (less likely to cycle out of rotation, with other fibers cycling in - the recruitment pool is smaller).