Low HR Training

Aerobic HR has jumped 10-15 bpm in two weeks! Now what? (Read 19 times)

dwillens

I have been running regularly for the past five years, 30-40mpw.  52 years old.  My resting HR was down to 42 and my typical easy aerobic workouts have been in the 8:30-9:00 range with an HR typically in the low 140s.  My HR for a recent half marathon (1:42:12) was 162.  In the past month, I have a had a couple of issues crop up: 1) I got a pinched nerve in my right shoulder; 2) my stress level went through the roof as a result of some issues at work.  I am not aware of any other issues that would effect my HR, but my resting HR has now gone up into the mid-50s.  The past few weeks I have cut back on my mileage but those same workouts in the 9:00 range (same basic conditions) I am now seeing average HRs in the 150s and long runs are getting into the 160s.  I am in base phase now so I can do easy runs, but really?  I am supposed to go back to 10:00 pace to get my HR back down to the same previous 140ish HR?   Any thoughts would be appreciated.  I am assuming (hopefully correctly) that this is a temporary situation related to stress etc and my HR will go back down to its previous range.  I don't think it is a medical issue.

BeeRunB