Low HR Training

Giving this a try (Read 745 times)

Hi all. I'm a 41 yo woman with type 2 diabetes. I'm a pretty slow newbie runner. At my easy pace, my heart rate is usually in the low 160s. I feel part of the reason I cannot go faster is because I'm afraid of pushing my heart too much. I've been pretty sedentary my whole life.

So I thought I would give Maffetone a try as a way to improve my aerobic fitness.

I am not sure what my maximum aerobic heart rate should be. At first I thought it should be 139 based on the formula in his book Training for Endurance. 180-41 (my age) - 0 (exercising for up to 2 years w/o any real problems). But the formula on his website seems a little different saying to subtract 0 if I've been exercising for at least 2 years. Would I be better off subtracting 5 and using 134?

I did a little trial attempt yesterday and found that walking briskly I could get my HR into the low 120s. But found it difficult to walk faster to get it higher. But if I tried to run (and it was very very very slow), my HR shot up over 140 pretty quickly. So I guess I should just work on walking faster for now? And at some point I will max out the walking to the point I will have to run to maintain my heart rate?

One more question -- should I always use the same HR monitor? I have a Garmin Forerunner 305 that I use when I go outdoors. But when I use my treadmill I just use the heart rate monitor it has (Polar). 

thanks for any input!

C-R

Sweeter - welcome to the forum. Its a good group here. Very knowledgeable and open to assist.

Make sure you read through the sticky "boilerplate" posts at the top of the forum. These should inform you very well.