Low HR Training

First month's results (Read 39 times)

bwyan

Hi everyone,

First, thanks for all the help you've provided in the form of 100's of earlier discussions. I've enjoyed lurking in these forums for about a month now, and your stories have been a frequent source of encouragement—especially on days when my pace seems to be getting SLOWER and all I want to do is rip of the heart rate monitor and kick into high gear.

I'm sorry that this post is so long, but I hope it will be helpful for others who might read it. I have found it much easier to relate to the stories and results of people that closely match my "profile" as a runner, so hopefully others will find this level of detail helpful too.

Anyway, I've been running since the spring of 2011 when on a whim, I decided to go out for a run and discovered that I couldn't even run a mile without stopping. As a 25 year old, I felt that was truly pathetic, so I decided to fix it. I started with a couch to 5k program, and by the fall, I was casually doing 3-5 mile runs 3-5 days/ week. In 2012, I worked up to my first marathon, and crossed the finish line in 3:49:54 (not amazing, but not bad for a newer runner) with plenty left in the tank and a desire to go faster or farther next time. In 2013, despite running more miles than the year before, and despite many good intentions to run another marathon or try a longer race, I never did either. I don't know why, but I suspect that I was pushing myself to run too fast and ended up doing a lot of my runs in the grey zone.

Well in mid-November, I finally decided to get The Big Book of Endurance Training and Racing, started listening to podcasts with Dr. Maffetone, and soon after ordered a heart rate monitor. I "officially" began my MAF training on December 15, with plans to beat my PRs in every distance from 5k to Marathon (won't be too hard) and then run my first 50M in December 2014 (will be quite hard).