Low HR Training

Old New Guy (Read 20 times)

Technorigine

Hi all; I have lurked for a bit, am somewhat new to MAF training (although I read and was influenced by Phil's articles even 20 years ago), and am thoroughly on board with Low HR training as a means of remediating damage I have incurred over 45 years of running, and in hopes of initiating a third competitive career. I have read all the stickies and am convinced that this is the right place for me to participate and benefit from the advice of others who have blazed the trail already.

Bio: As mentioned, I have been running since 1972, and have had two competitive careers already. The first was ages 15-22, during which I was focused on distance and long distance (roads). Chronic knee problems forced me to turn to other sports, of which technical rock climbing and mountaineering proved the most enjoyable, and using the training principles I learned from running and other sports, was able to reach a pro level as a climber, and to this day make my primary income through this means.

My second racing career was ages 40-50, and while I started with some success on the roads (my only road race overall victory, a 1/2 marathon), I soon realized that I was more competitive against my peers at shorter distances, particularly 400-1500 meters. I slowed through my 40's, but not as much as my peers, and by age 50 had a number of national AG medals, as well as some real success in coaching others to a sub-elite level (including national AG track champions and a competitive women's marathon overall winner).

My highlight PR's are: 400m/55 (age 44) 800m/2:05 (age 44; 2:11 age 50), 1500/4:20 (age 43), 2 miles 10:01 (age 18), 5K 16:08 (age 21; 16:32 age 42) 1/2 mar 1:15 (age 21; 1:18 age 40) and marathon 2:38 (age 22).