Low HR Training

MAF test today (Read 1090 times)

Have been trying to do a proper MAF test. Made another attempt today, but probably should have done it on Saturday when I have rested well on Friday. Anyway here it is: warm up 0.6 mile Temperature around 50F, minor wind. MAF 150 Mile 1 14:00 AHR 151 Mile 2 15:00 AHR 151 Mile 3 15:07 AHR 151 Mile 4 14:29 AHR 151 Feel loosen up a little more in the last mile, so ran faster than the previous two miles, maybe next time I should do longer warm up. Time is always an issue doing this test.

Happy

Denali, Thank you for sharing your MAF test results with us. I am new to this so I am very curious - learning from everything I see right now. You noticed that you felt more loose on the 4th mile of your test. If you read some of the recent threads and posts about warming up prior to the MAF test you will notice that it is common for this to happen. (Read Shiksa's post about her success with MAF training after having started to carefully warm up on all of her runs.) Warming up should be done gradually starting at a very low HR - much below your MAF. Since people run at different paces it doesn't makes sense to say warm up for 3 miles, rather it should be measured in time. Jimmyb wrote a detailed suggestion for how to properly warm up before a MAF test in a thread I started about my MAF test recently - go back and read it, I think you will be surprised how much better a grip you will get on your MAF test after that. I think you are doing the right thing by performing the test eventhough you are not quite sure how to. Getting your feet wet is the fastest way to learn. It looks like you were very good at hitting a consistent HR AVG for the test - WOW! I think you may have an intuition for feeling your pace; that's going to set you up for success in longer distance races.
      5K, 4/28/07 24:16 PR 10K, 5/5/07 49:23 PR 1/2 M, 12/08/07 1:49:34 PR Marathon, 12/09/06 3:57:37 BQ 50K, 10/04/2009 7:27:00 PB 40M, 4/17/2010 11:20:00 PB