Low HR Training

my training (Read 535 times)

Pammie

I've not been here for a while. Many apologies. It will be a year ago tomorrow (Monday) that i did my first and only marathon, it did not go well. Well not as i expected but that is another story. After that though i had been running regularly since June 2003 I just did not feel like it. I ran 31 miles in November, 13 in December and 24 in January. Not great Started running again in April not great (44 miles) but slowly built up since. But of course had a few niggles which disrupted training, hamstring, knee, ankle. So having gotten them seen to am back on the road again And From Oct 8th i resumed low HR training I'd done this thing before back in late 2003 and 2004 via the Hadd method did the Hadd tests a few times had a good year in 2005 (2004 was alright as well) but guess i wasn't running enough miles or something wasn't doing as well as expected This year i've started using whats been named the parker method (Heart Monitor Training for the Compleat Idiot) mainly sub 70% WHR for easy runs (sometimes called heart rate reserve) and above 85% for hard runs, but i'm not doing many of them at the moment want to build my miles up first. Ran 28 miles this week, not a great number but its getting there
    Pammie