Low HR Training

I figured out my max hr, but ... (Read 525 times)

Julianne R

How low should you let it drop? Mine is 138, and I'm just starting out after a long layoff from an injury. I just did 30 mins on a treadmill with a avg hr of 115. What is the zone to train in? Thanks
      If I were you I would stay in the 118-138 range. Just try not to go over 138 and you are all good!! Of course people who have been maffing longer can still "run" even lower than maf-20 but for me I would be crawlingSmile Hopefully someone smarter than me will chime in though.

run-easy-race-hard

How low should you let it drop? Mine is 138, and I'm just starting out after a long layoff from an injury. I just did 30 mins on a treadmill with a avg hr of 115. What is the zone to train in? Thanks
        What's 138? Your max heart rate? Your MAF heart rate? Something else? How old are you? What approach are you using?
        Julianne R

MAF of 138. 37 yrs old. Sorry, but I'm not exactly sure what you mean by "approach." I just put on my Garmin stuff and hop on the treadmill, go for 30 mins and make sure my hr doesn't go over 138. That's as sophisticated as I am at this point. Just not sure if there is a range to keep it in, like if your MAF is 150, do people try to keep it 140-150 or 130-150, etc. Just wondering what other people do. I'm just starting out after a long time in the hospital recovering from an injury, so my goals are increased fitness and running a 5k. Right now, if I did a 5k it'd probably take an hour for me to walk it. My goal is to run one...and I don't have a time goal.

run-easy-race-hard