Martial Artist Runners

Blew it (Read 64 times)

Gig

This past Saturday, I took a prelim exam to see if I could get on the next black belt test. (Actually, this raises a question. Since this is my first and only martial arts school, I'm wondering if prelims are normal, or somewhat unique to KIK.)

I felt extremely well prepared. I have been working toward this exam for several months (in addition to my general martial arts training). I didn't do as well as I would have liked, and certainly not well enough to be placed on the next test in June. The feedback I received after the prelim was typical in that there were things I thought I did poorly on that they felt were fine, and things that I did poorly that I was completely unaware of.

Here's the breakdown. (I'm writing this as much for myself, but if anybody can benefit from it, all the better.)

Basic Motion

There were 15 people on the prelim, which is an unusually high number. We still did the standard of all doing basic motion together, but not surprisingly, there was very little feedback. BM is generally used as a warm up, unless you really stand out as needing work. I did get one comment (I think it was BM but it could have been my kata) that my sidekicks are off target. I've been doing a lot of kicking drills, but mostly focused on power/thrust. I hadn't really thought about accuracy. I suppose that matters, ya think?!)

All other portions of the exam are performed individually, with all judges adding notes for providing feedback:

Kata

On the black belt exam, we have to perform Shinte plus one other belt-level form. Mine is Bassai. We also have to do one lower belt form, for which I chose Penon 2. For the prelim, we only do one, so I did Shinte. Forms are one of my stronger areas, so that went well. I was told that I need to relax more in the shoulders, which I will try to do, but we do call it 40+ Man Syndrome, so to some extent it's tolerated in the old guys like me.

Jujitsu