Marathon Training and Discussions

What is a good schedule to follow? (Read 1005 times)

Treadmill Addict

So, I'm new to marathon running. First one is in May. I've done a half and a bunch of 5k's and 10k's. My goal time in May will be around 4:30 I think. Right now I'm running around 20-25 miles per week, with weights in there too. I plan on working up to 35 mile weeks, but I honestly don't know what a good marathon training schedule is. I read on here people talk about certain long runs, training calendar schedules, etc. Can you share with me what a good training schedule is, with details about how many miles per week, should I do the same miles each day with long runs, how long are the long runs, and how to taper before the race? I know this is such a basic question. I've googled it, but only found a few examples, and I figure I'd ask in here, to get the good info coming from people who I can ask more questions and clarify. thanks!!!!

Sarah (37)

Mom to Abby (10) Jacob, (8) and Colton (5)

18 half marathons, 6 full marathons

Goals- run more, lose 20lbs.

A Saucy Wench

I think for a first marathon hal higdon is a decent base program. Google it, it's available free online.

I have become Death, the destroyer of electronic gadgets

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7

xor