Marathon Training and Discussions

Welcome! (Read 1765 times)

Go Pre!

As long as you're far enough into your training for the half...which I believe would only be a couple of weeks from now? You will have plenty of time to continue for the full. It's your first, so take it easy and have fun!

madness baby

As long as you're far enough into your training for the half...which I believe would only be a couple of weeks from now? You will have plenty of time to continue for the full. It's your first, so take it easy and have fun!
      Thanks! Yes, the half is a week away. I've done 2 10-mile runs and I didn't find them too difficult. And as long as my knees hold up well, I'll just make my weekend runs longer to continue the full on March 4th. Kind of scared-and I will wait to register until after my half. I can't believe it's coming up so soon, but I think I'm going to be looking for a bigger challenge. Do I sound addicted?
      deb
        Hi everyone! I'm a complete newbie to marathoning, I am currently training for a local marathon on March 4th, and I've been training since the end of November, and unfortunately I have no idea what I'm doing. I'm sort of just making it up. But it's fun, so I've decided to stick with it. Smile I'm currently a senior in high school, and I've been running for about 2.5 years, and in those 2.5 years I've had more running injuries than most people have in their entire running careers. Haha. I started running XC my sophomore year and immediately fell in love with it, but had a horrible case of patellar tendonitis that pretty much put me out until March of the next year. Then, I came back for XC my junior year, and was the star runner on the team, which was pretty cool. But once again, I got injured, only this time I suffered a nagging hip injury that just never really went away. I took off for indoor track, and came back sort of in outdoor track, and then started training hard that summer to break every girl's XC record my school had in