Marathon Training and Discussions

Which should be my "right" Marathon Pace? (Read 1217 times)

Hallo, I've been running for 2,5 years, and last summer I ran my first (and only so far) Marathon: 3h 37'. Since then I've improved my 10k PR by 4 min (to 39') and in the last few weeks I've improved my PR's in the 10M & HM by respectively 4 (to 1h 5') and 8 (to 1h 28') minutes. Normally, and if injuries respect me and all that stuff, I would expect to improve my Marathon PR next month. The question is: which should be my real target time? Putting my times in McMillan, it gives a target between 3h5' and 3h7' but, at first sight, these times look to me like too optimistic and I wouldn't like to go for those times and realizing at km 25 that I've been running too fast and have then to "crawl" for the remaining 17k. But on the other hand, thanks to the crisis I've had to travel less in the last months and so I have been able to train more often than last year, and it should then be a good chance to make a nice improvement to my PR. Based on these premises, I would appreciate your comments about the target time I should set (or perhaps how I could find myself that 'right' pace) in order to get a nice PR improvement, but without dying in the way. Thanks Rafa

Targets 1) No injuries 2) Keep having fun 3) Some kind of PR